Rhode Island Governor Lincoln Chafee recently signed legislation to increase the state minimum wage. The last time the state of Rhode Island had a minimum wage increase was in 2007.
Effective January 1, 2013, the minimum wage in Rhode Island will increase from $7.40 to $7.75 per hour. The law applies to all employers in the state, regardless of size.
The state’s minimum wage is now 50 cents about the federal minimum wage.